upgrade failures

Today I wanted to upgrade my “sid” system again (like I do 1-3 times per day, especially when I have nothing else to do). First of all, I was hit by a bug in APT “Could not perform immediate configuration (2) on perl”. I worked around it by running the latest git commit of cupt, which then started to upgrade my system. At some stage however, after upgrading parts of perl it seems, the progress stopped and perl complained that it could not find English.pm anymore. I tried to manually install the perl packages using dpkg -i, but this did not work. Then I just thought I should just try to unpack it and run dpkg -x <package> / on the perl packages. Now dpkg -i was working again and I could run dpkg -i on the packages again and continue my upgrade using apt-get.

4 thoughts on “upgrade failures

  1. I found an another workaround,
    cd /var/cache/apt/archives
    sudo dpkg -i perl_5.10.1-3_i386.deb perl-modules_5.10.1-3_all.deb
    ( There are nothing to claim for upgrading perl.)
    cd
    aptitude full-upgrade

  2. As liblocale-gettext-perl depends now again on perl-base instead of perl, perl is no longer a pseudo-essential package and theirfore all workarounds are obsolete as it works again as normal.

    Next time (which will properly need quite a bit of time), you don’t need to use another packagemanager or to fall back to dpkg: A simple
    apt-get dist-upgrade -o APT::Immediate-Configure=0
    would have done the trick.

    Please see http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=548858 for a complete explanation of what and why apt tries to do immediate configuration here.

    Best regards / Mit freundlichen Grüßen,

    David “DonKult” Kalnischkies

  3. I had the same problem on Sid a few days ago… I simply did

    #dpkg-reconfigure perl

    and everything went back to normal…

    Thanks for posting!

Comments are closed.